Can I tell you a story about the time I went to Amsterdam?

 

34060490276_20451e5a37_o.jpg

In hindsight I wouldn’t recommend going to Amsterdam over the Easter break, it felt like a million people decided to flock to the center of city all at the same time! Doesn’t help that it’s also spring, their busiest season – Tulips season.

Amsterdam is a beautiful city. Even though I had high expectations for this trip, I have to remind myself it is a great city even if I did spend most of my time in lines. I do like how liberated the city is, they really do try and accommodate for all types of people. They are big on the art culture side, they have high environmental awareness and definitely enjoy their food – probably the best Asian food I’ve had in Europe.

I went with three friends, I wouldn’t recommend Amsterdam on your own as it’s more of a fun city and it would be a shame if you didn’t experience it with friends. But having said that, it’s definitely do able for solo travellers. I wouldn’t recommend more than 2 days if you were there on your own.

If there’s one tip I can give you, that is to book Anne Frank museum the same time as you book your flights, it sold out so fast I didn’t get the chance to book anything. You can start lining up for tickets after 3pm on the day, but when we got there it turned out to be a wait up to 4 hours.

Amsterdam is easy to get around, it’s 20mins on the train from the airport for €5, then you can either hire a bike to get around the city or purchase a tram day pass or walk. Everything is relatively close.

IMG_7901

We did the canal tour in the late afternoon and watched the sunset. It’s a great way to see the city and streets of Amsterdam.

IMG_7919

Bridges after bridges

IMG_7926

IMG_7880

Amsterdam is surrounded by canals, back in the days when the houses were built they didn’t account for the soil near the canals, which turned out to be on soft soil (big surprise there) a lot of the houses on the canals are slightly crooked because they’re sinking on one side.

I have to admit the Red Light district is my least favourite part about Amsterdam. From the history of it to seeing the women in shop windows, it made me feel uncomfortable and sad walking down the streets, I don’t even understand why parents bring the children there.

If you are going to Amsterdam during Spring, you have to check out the flower show at the Keukenhof Gardens.

IMG_8095

IMG_8094

IMG_8082

From the center of the city you can book yourself a tour including transport to Keukenhof Gardens for €55. Or you can get yourself there via public transport and pay the entrance fee, totaling roughly €35. Journey time is 20mins to the airport then another 20mins bus to the Gardens.

 

Things to do around Amsterdam – get lost in the streets and experience everything! There’s the Heineken factory if you’re into beer. Or like me you can visit the world’s first Avocado Cafe! You won’t be disappointed!

We ate a lot of fries…

And anything that was sweet…

Easter is a very busy time in the city.

IMG_8037

Next time I’m in Amsterdam, I’ll be sure to get out of the city and see the beautiful architecture of Rotterdam.

 

 

One thought on “Can I tell you a story about the time I went to Amsterdam?

Leave a Reply

